Can I take the defensive driving course from my iPhone or iPad?
Yes! Our program is mobile-friendly. This means that you can take our course from any Smartphone of Tablet.
Is this course the same as an accident prevention course?
Yes it is. Technically, the online program is called the Internet Point and Insurance Reduction Program (IPIRP). This is the official DMV name of the program. Most people simply call it defensive driving or accident prevention. No matter what you decide to call it, it is the same program and has all of the same benefits.
How long is the course?
The course is 6 hours long. This is required by New York State law but you do have the ability to log in and out of the course splitting it into numerous session.
Do I get an insurance discount for completing the course?
Of course! You will be eligible to receive a 10% discount on your collision, no-fault, and liability coverage.
How do I receive my insurance reduction?
That’s easy. We will provide you with a completion certificate after you have completed our class. Once you receive the certificate, provide a copy of it to your insurance carrier. They will then apply the car insurance discount to your policy.
How long does the insurance discount last?
The insurance discount lasts for 3 years. When your discount expires, you can retake our course to have your discount extended.
Do I need to pass a final exam?
No. We do not have a final exam.
Will I get points reduced from my license?
This course will reduce up to 4 Points from the total on your license.
I don’t have any points on my license. Can the point reduction be applied to future violations?
Point reduction applies only to the traffic violations that you received in the 18 months prior to taking the course. It can not be used as a get out of jail free card.
After I take the course, what do I need to do to get the points reduced from my license?
You do not need to do anything. We will notify the NYS DMV for you. The DMV will then enter your successful completion of the course into the system and the points will automatically be reduced.
Will taking the defensive driving course help me avoid driver assessment fees?
No. Driver assessment fees are mandatory for anybody who has received 6 points on their license within an 18 month period. The point reduction will help you avoid suspension of your driving privileges, but you still need to pay the fees.
Is your course approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles?
It sure is. The American Safety Institute is our course provider. This online course is an approved Point and Insurance Reduction Program. This means that you are guaranteed to get a 10% discount on your car insurance and up to 4 points reduced from your license when you complete our course.